Skip to content

Gratitude Tuesday

December 2, 2009

Last week, in my Motherwoman circle we talked about gratitude. We all wrote down three things that we were thankful/grateful for. A high school English teacher who was in circle does this with her students, but challenges them to think beyond the conventional “easy” things to be grateful for. Those things are important, but she challenged me to dig deeper.

I hope to someday start a gratitude journal, but for now hopefully weekly post will have to do. One of my main goals is to write everyday and I do not want to overwhelm myself. Instead, I want to set manageable goals and go from there. Look for an upcoming post about goals in the next few days.

This is going to sound really weird, but I am grateful for a specific tree in a neighboring town. This tree is some sort of pine tree and stands about seven feet tall. Every year, for the holidays the owners of this tree have decorated it in the exact same way for the holidays using purple and blue lights with a gold star on top. Their yard isn’t full of inflatable Santas, reindeer, or any other Christmas decorations. There is just this tree. And I find such beauty in the simplicity of it.

Michael and I spent our first years together living in the town where this tree is located. This is the town where Michael and I announced our engagement. This is the town where Michael and I started out our first newlywed days. This is the town where we lived when we found out we were having a baby. All of these memories and more came back to me when I saw this tree for the first time of the season this weekend. And for that, I am grateful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Colleen permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:20 pm

    Every step counts — remembering once a week what you’re grateful for is better than nothing, and maybe once you start doing that, you’ll realize how many things you have to write down that you’ll creep up to twice a week, then daily?

    I just did a month of blog posts about gratitude and it was sometimes a lot to juggle, but I’m glad I did it. I think developing that daily ritual of thinking about gratitude helps to turn it into a habit. It now almost feels like a reflex to think about why I’m grateful all day.

    Good luck with gratitude Tuesdays!

    http://newvinegrowing.wordpress.com/2009/10/26/launching-a-month-of-thanksgiving/

Leave a Reply

