Skip to content

Ready, Set, Go!

January 13, 2010

Today was Malone’s 6 month well baby visit. He’s a champ- 18 lbs 3 oz, 28.5 inches long, and has a slightly larger than normal head.  The doctor was pleased with his growth. I’ve been blessed with a healthy guy who actually wears the size of clothing that is current with his age (6-12 months).

He’s been given the green light to start solid foods. My personal philosophy is that food is “fun until one”. I want Malone to taste and explore a variety of things both with our aid and on his own as best he’s capable.

I hope to make most of his food- but in preparation for the green light I knew I would be given today, I purchased a few jars of organic baby food and organic whole grain baby oatmeal.

He had two meals of carrots and oatmeal today. He liked it for the most part.

Me, on the other hand had a pretty hard time with it.

I’ve been struggling with this for awhile.

For 16.5 months now, I’ve been growing him all by myself (save for an emergency bottle of formula). I’ve grown him from a tiny spec that was smaller than the size of a pin drop to the 18.2 lb bruiser he currently is.

And now food gets to help grow him too? It hardly seems fair.

We will continue to nurse through his first birthday and beyond (I hope and pray) but I didn’t think I would be as sad as what I am/have been about the introduction of solids into my little guy’s life.

Tears have been shed.

But, now Daddy gets a chance to finally be a main part of the feeding of Malone. That’s exciting. He’s been waiting patiently.

We get to introduce Malone to a whole new world and witness as he enjoys it.

I can’t wait to see his first strawberry stained face- his first taste of tapenade, the list goes on and on.

I am sure this is the first of many things I will mourn as my baby grows up.

I must remember- don’t blink.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 9:24 pm

    Coen has been interested in our food since, it seems, the beginning. It was hard to wait until six months because he always had a hand reaching for whatever we had. But he wants nothing to do with baby food – not jars or rice cereal, puffs or yogurt drops. He wants what we’re having!

Leave a Reply

