Skip to content

A funny one.

February 15, 2010

This blog carnival was created byMckMama. You can head over to her blog to read what she and everyone else have not been doing this week.

Last week (or maybe it was the week before I can’t remember) I did not call 911 because my smoke detector was going off. The hotties from the fire department which included three ladder trucks and the chief did not come rushing to my aid, storm up the stairs with their axes in hand and their oxygen masks on.

My land lady’s mother who lives several states away did not hear the call while listening to the fire/police internet scanner my town has and she did not call my land lady at work in a hysterical panic. The land lady did not call me leaving a frantic voice mail and when she couldn’t reach me she did not call my husband at work.

The hotties of the fire department and the chief did not arrive to no fire or smoke alarm going off.

The neighbors did not come out to gawk.

The firemen did not tell me that the smoke detector probably went nuts “from cooking your tater tots a little too long.”

I was not secretly a little annoyed that they did not wipe their boots before coming in (axes in hand and oxygen masks on remind you) to save my house from the non emergency that I thought was an emergency enough to dial 911.

I was not mortified by the whole event.

I did not post about it on facebook so all of my friends could laugh at me.

And finally, I was not a little relieved to know that from the time I called 911 to the time the fire department got to my house was less than 3 minutes.

In my defense, the smoke alarm was going nutso. There is no fan above our stove and often times the slightest thing sets it off. Usually, I can get it to stop by waving a towel but this time it wouldn’t shut up. We live in an owner occupied Victorian house with electrical wiring so old that I am sure Ben Franklin wired it himself. I really thought that there was something going on with the first floor space.

Better safe than sorry right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 10:37 pm

    this was so hilarious!!! i am so HAPPY that there was no real fire and that everything is okay. sorry about all the craziness…but, it made a really good story to tell.

Leave a Reply

